top of page

Simple Dietary Guidelines for healthy habits

The Dietary Guidelines is an important tool to help individuals improve their judgment and make healthier choices, where food is concerned, to prevent chronic illnesses and have healthy diets daily. It is not intended to treat diseases but regardless of an individuals’ current health status, almost all persons can benefit from shifting our choices to healthier eating habits. There are five (5) core concepts of the Dietary Guidelines.

1. Follow a healthy dietary pattern across the span of your life.

Every day we’re making choices with food and beverages but it’s important to understand that every decision influences your current health status. You’re to select an eating pattern that’s appropriate enough to meet your needs on calories and nutrient demands, going to reduce the risk of chronic diseases and maintain sufficient health.

2. Consume a variety of nutrient-dense foods in the right amounts.

Choosing a variety of nutrient-dense foods across and within all food groups, in recommended amounts, will help an individual to meet nutrient demands.

3. Keep calories from added sugars and saturated fats to a limit and reduce your sodium intake.

Your dietary patterns should be such that your consumption of sodium, added sugars and saturated fats are low. You can easily put strategies in place to cut back on foods that have a high amount of these elements by being aware of their nutritional facts.

4. Select food and beverages that are healthier.

Always choose foods and beverages that are nutrient-dense and comes from and across all food groups over ones rich in added sugars and calories. Options from homemade and natural products help to ensure this shift is easily maintained.

5. Simplify healthy eating for others.

Globally, we can all help to create and maintain healthy eating habits for others, whether it’s in schools or work the home or the community.

Key Suggestions

Indulge in healthy eating habits that account for foods and beverages within a suitable calorie limit.

Healthy eating habits would include

• Protein foods: eggs, lean meat and poultry, seafood, beans and peas, nuts and seeds and soy products

• Whole fruits (except fruit juices)

• Oils

• Vegetables: starchy, beans and peas, yellow, red, orange, dark green leafy

• Little to no fat dairy: cheese, yoghurt, milk

• Whole grains

Healthy eating habits would limit

• Additional sugars

• Sodium

• Trans fats

• Saturated fats

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page